RSS Feed

Craftaholics Anonymous Handmade Gift Exchange!

Posted on

So I finally completed my gift for the Craftaholics Anonymous Handmade Gift Exchange & I’m really excited about it. I’ve never done this before & I’m a little shy, so I actually didn’t get to know my gifter or my giftee very well – but oh well. Maybe next time.

So the girl I was to be making something for said that she liked useful kitchen stuff, so I decided to sew her a half apron. I’ve been DYING to make myself an apron, but it’s even better when I get to make it for another person! I also decided to make it without using a pattern, which was scary since I’m a fairly new sewer – but it came out great! Of course, it’s not perfect – I didn’t realize that the fabric I chose to use for the waistband/tie was slightly see-through, & some of my top-stitching is obviously not perfectly straight, but who cares! I SUCCESSFULLY SEWED AN APRON! It’s super simple, it doesn’t even have a pocket because I didn’t want to mess up the apron itself. I also decided to also make a few washcloths to go with the ‘kitchen’ theme. Originally, I wanted to make those wooden spoons with the painted handle, but I don’t have any supplies for it, so washcloths it was. I really love working with cotton yarn, & I also love the idea of them being SO useful. The washcloths aren’t in my giftee’s favorite colors, because I wanted them to somewhat match the apron instead. :] Either way, I’m proud of my handiwork & I hope my giftee loves the set as much as I do!

Check out the Craftaholics Anonymous blog, there’s some great stuff on there. I think you can get to her site through the Handmade Gift Exchange button somewhere over there –>

About Dani

23. Graduate student. Knitting, crocheting, sewing, coffee drinking, makeup & fashion loving, dream following, traveling, working, living, laughing, loving.

2 responses »

  1. Love these and what great colors!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

