RSS Feed

The semester from hell

Posted on

Hello everyone. Once again, it’s been far too long since I’ve been able to update my favorite blog. The main reason I haven’t updated is because I haven’t done much crafting or cooking the last 3 months. This semester was absolutely insane. I’ve never experienced such a busy semester, && I’m finishing up my 8th. At least it’s nearly over. In 8 days time, I’ll be done with my finals & ready for Summer. I seriously cannot wait.

Speaking of college, many of my best friends are graduating this year. I’m going to miss them a lot, but I’m excited to see where everyone is a year from now, when I’m graduating. It was especially hard for awhile because I knew that I was originally supposed to graduate this year too. BUT things change, & bigger, better opportunities come up – which for me, means an extra year of undergrad. So now, I’m class of 2013 – & now that I’ve come to terms with it, I’m actually kind of thankful. I’m so not ready for graduate school.

My best friend Jessica & her boyfriend

Also, I’m STILL working on the scarf that I’ve now had for months & months. I’ve tried to do it in my free time, but sometimes it takes too much focus when I just want to relax. And, it’s now April & 60-70 degrees out here – I figure it probably doesn’t matter when my friend gets his scarf now, as long as it’s before October. I’m sure I’ll work on it a ton next week. Once my last final is over on Wednesday, it’s going to be SO weird to not have anything to worry about. But, I’m determined to get this thing done, ends weaved in, &  blocked so I can send it off & work on some other stuff. I’ve been craving crocheting lately – I really want to make a headband or work on some granny squares for my parents blanket. I’d also like to sew. I’ve had my sewing machine for several months now & only gotten one thing made with it. Every time I walk into a thrift store, I end up leaving with several handfuls of fabric scraps from their ‘notions’ area. I think I want to try & make something quilted. Either way, I know that when I get this scarf finished, I’m done taking commissions for awhile. I want to craft for myself, & for the Etsy that I want to open this Summer. I’m so over being stressed about something that I used to enjoy doing so much.

Okay, so now let’s get to why I decided to do this post in the first place. I made a mug cake today & had to share it, because I love it SO much. I make these easy, microwave cakes a lot because I live alone & they’re super easy prep & cleanup – something that is embarrassingly important to me these days. Anyways, the only one I’ve ever actually tried making is from this website, & that’s because it’s so good & so simple. This one is a peanut butter cake that only takes an egg, flour, baking powder, brown sugar, & peanut butter. I always add chocolate chips, & lots of them, but you could probably add anything you want! Seriously though – this is a must try. What are you waiting for?!

Let me know what you think of the cake – & point me in the direction of any others I should try! I hope everyone is less stressed than I am, & I can’t wait to start blogging regularly again here in a couple weeks! :]

About Dani

23. Graduate student. Knitting, crocheting, sewing, coffee drinking, makeup & fashion loving, dream following, traveling, working, living, laughing, loving.

Leave a Reply

