RSS Feed

Avoidance

Posted on

I should be studying for exams that I have this week, but I’m procrastinating. Not on purpose, really. I have my notes, study guide, & book right in front of me, but I can’t seem to focus. I’m tired & all I want is a nap, but I know that would solve nothing. So I’m blogging instead!

I got my sewing machine yesterday! It got to my parents place on Thursday, I think – a whole four days before the estimated delivery date. I wasn’t supposed to get it for another two weeks, but my neighbor from home was coming down to this area this weekend to visit her best friend before she had her baby & brought it down with her. It was great, because I also got to spend some time with them over coffee & catch up – something we don’t often get to do, even when I’m home on breaks.

Anyways, the machine is wonderful. As beautiful as I thought it would be, but much much bigger than I originally thought, which actually came as a pleasant surprise. I was worried it would be small & difficult to use because of it, but the size is great & I especially love the large sewing area. It’s so so so easy to use – I knew the basics of how to wind a bobbin, insert a bobbin, & thread a machine, but I had never done any of it before. It took no time for me to get the machine threaded for bobbin winding, & then threaded for actual use. Some other things I really like is the thread cutter on the side – it’s so simple & once you cut the thread, the top & bottom threads stay up there & out of the way – & the pedal! Other machines I’ve used have super sensitive pedals & no matter how gently you press on it, it takes off. This one is much more my style, & I can sew slowly if I need to.

I’m excited that it fits so well & looks so great on my desk. It’s the perfect sewing area, since I never use this desk for it’s typical uses – I do all my homework, internet surfing, eating, etc. at the table in the kitchen.

Before:

After:

I’m really looking forward to transforming this area into a fully functional crafting corner. I have a desk in my kitchen that I’m mostly using for storage/counter space, so I want to empty a few of these drawers out & transfer the stuff into the kitchen desk so that I can keep all my sewing/knitting/crocheting/embroidering/etc. supplies right here. I also want to get rid of the weekly planner board [that I never use anyways, as you can tell], & hang the thread shelf organizer dad’s making me there, as well as a corkboard or something similar for idea/designing space. I actually already found something that I would really like to make for this – it’s a hanging wall caddy that has pockets on the top half and cork panels in the bottom half. The pattern is in the Sew Retro book that came with my machine, & it doesn’t look difficult. I can’t wait to go find pretty fabric for it!

So overall, good experience so far with the sewing machine. I’ve really only played around with different stitches, different lengths & widths, & practiced practiced practiced. So much so, in fact, that I already went through a whole bobbin & had to wind a new one! I’m pretty bored with that & really want to make something, but I was unprepared for the machine to come so quickly & don’t have all the materials I need, like interfusible facing, measuring tools, etc. So, for now, I’ll be practicing on the cheap fabric I found in the clearance bin at Walmart, & maybe try a practice pattern with it & w/o facing.

 

Back to studying. UGH.

About Dani

23. Graduate student. Knitting, crocheting, sewing, coffee drinking, makeup & fashion loving, dream following, traveling, working, living, laughing, loving.

Leave a Reply

