RSS Feed

What’s the deal with copyrights?

Posted on

Okay, so, I said in my last post that I had a lot to say about copyrights and copyright infringement. Today I was curious about free patterns & whether or not you could sell what you make from them. I know that many patterns are pretty straight forward and tell you whether the designer is okay with it or not, but some don’t. At this point, I would assume the proper etiquette would be to email the designer and ask their preference on the situation. But anyways…

I came across this discussion on Etsy about copyright infringement and how people [not even the designer/copyright owner] contact people who they think might be infringing. That’s just crazy to me. I guess in my opinion that’s a little too much. How do they know the seller didn’t get permission from the designer? Not cool, not cool at all.

But that’s not the main thing I wanted to talk about. Basically, I really want to open an Etsy shop, but I’m afraid of all this copyright business. I’ve been busy making up my own patterns for some of my favorite things – coffee cozies, headbands/earwarmers, & infinity scarves/cowls – so that I don’t have to worry as much about copyrights, but everything I make is pretty basic and has likely been done before, more than once. My biggest worry & question is: how does that work? Everything has surely been done already, and maybe someone has it copyrighted, but what if I’ve created my own item and honestly created my own pattern but someone thinks I’m infringing? I mean, it’s not hard to be inspired by something and then create your own pattern for it, & people do it all the time. So what happens in that situation?

I’ve done some reading about copyright laws, but I’m no law student, I know basically nothing about laws like that. Anyone have any basic pointers to go by, or websites that give the plain & simple, important things to know about it?

Maybe I’m just stressing excessively about this – but copyright infringement is serious business! Help!

About Dani

23. Graduate student. Knitting, crocheting, sewing, coffee drinking, makeup & fashion loving, dream following, traveling, working, living, laughing, loving.

One response »

  1. I am kinda in the same boat as you…… I make my own patterns for the items and things I am intending to sell and I am on the verge of opening an etsy store………….. I haven’t yet considered copyright infringements or anything like that, I don’t know any of the answers you seek, but I’m glad you raised the question!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

