RSS Feed

Crafting to relieve the stress

Posted on

Started classes yesterday, & I’m already insanely stressed out. I really don’t like the beginning of new semesters. I hate getting acquainted with new schedules, classrooms, professors, & students. I also hate new syllabuses. Too much going on in too many places at once. SIGH. I can totally tell I’m a college veteran – I’m so over undergrad. I just want to be done & move on to bigger & better things.

I can’t believe it’s 10:35pm & I’ve literally done no crafting today. It’s ironic that I decided to title this post ‘Crafting to relieve the stress’ when I haven’t even done any. I think it’s because I know if I DID craft, I would feel better, but I’m even too stressed for that. How depressing.

 

Sunday night I finished putting the fringe on the Gryffindor scarf I made for my friend.

I think it turned out really well. She purchased the yarn so the colors were right, & then all she told me was that she wanted it to be like the ones that were worn in the movies. So I found a picture of one online & based it off that. I used a rather large hook [J or K, I think], worsted weight yarn, & double crochet. I’m making granny squares using the same hook & I loved how soft & floppy they were, so I decided to do the same with the scarf, because I wanted it to be pretty, soft, & flexible. I’m very happy with how it turned out.

I also finished my bunting & hung it up! It looks so pretty! I love it & can’t wait to make more.

I’m also working on the hat a friend commissioned from me. I’m trying a new pattern I’ve never tried before, but I loved the look of it so much I had to try it. It’s coming alone well, I just have a few more inches to go & it’ll be done. I just might have to make one for myself!

I really love the puff stitch used for this hat, I think I might try to make an infinity scarf with it.

 

So as you can tell, my crafting to-do list worked. I think I’ve crossed off like 4 things already, which is wonderful. I can’t be stressed about my crafting too!

Hopefully next time you hear from me, I will be less frazzled & more optimistic about the semester. I have to say, at this point, sometimes it’s just difficult to see the end & the light at the end of the tunnel when a new round of classes begin. :/

About Dani

23. Graduate student. Knitting, crocheting, sewing, coffee drinking, makeup & fashion loving, dream following, traveling, working, living, laughing, loving.

3 responses »

  1. Those are some really neat stuff you made 🙂

    Reply
  2. or rather, Crochets haha, my bad. They are very cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

