RSS Feed

Back to the grind

Posted on

Well, sort of back to the grind. I’m back in my college town tonight, but we don’t start Spring semester until Monday, so I have a few more days of freedom. Either way, it’s weird how different your moods can be from one place to the other. I was immediately stressed when I got back to my little apartment. It couldn’t have had anything to do with the fact that I had probably 15 bags, a suitcase, a garbage can, & a hamper full of things to drag up to my apartment & organize/put away, could it have? It also had to do with the fact that I’m completely broke right now, living off my credit card & reserve line until I get my financial aid, which stresses me out because my parents are having a really hard time financially right now & will have to borrow a lot of my fin aid to get by. I try to remind myself that as long as I can pay all my important bills & they can too, then that’s all that matters. I just hope I can get a job in Washington very soon, because I’ve been working in Idaho, where the minimum wage is still $7-something, & it just went up to $9-something in WA. That’s such a huge difference! So hopefully. But no matter what, it will work out & I will survive this semester.

With what little money I had transferred over from my reserve line to buy groceries/necessities with when I got back into town, I decided to try a recipe that I found on Pinterest, which was basically a recipe for mini french dip sandwiches made with crescent rolls, roast beef, swiss cheese, & horseradish sauce. They were so simple, the ingredients were super inexpensive, & they were SO yummy. When I have money to buy the ingredients I need [which I didn’t really this time, but I just got lucky that they were so cheap], I love to try new recipes & experiment with cooking & baking. It’s been awhile since I’ve done it, so I was excited to break out the cooking utensils & make something.

I have yet to start a new project with a hook or needles. I’m not even fully unpacked, & it’s increasingly difficult since I’m defrosting my freezer – a task I’ve been putting off for months. But what better time than when my fridge & freezer are mostly empty since I’ve been gone for nearly a month? I think it’s almost done & I’m so glad; I’m getting sick of my kitchen being a crazy, disorganized mess. I did manage to put all my clean clothes away & put my boots away neatly, as well as go through my bathroom, reorganizing & getting rid of things I haven’t used in years. The unfortunate part is that I live in a studio apartment, & the bathroom is the tiniest room ever – so the fact that I did such serious cleaning really isn’t that impressive. Sigh.

Anyways though, I really, really want to crochet [or knit] myself a new bag. I’ve been wanting to buy a new purse, but it’s kind of like how I was with infinity scarves & headbands – I just can’t do it when I know I can make it myself! So this is one of my inspirations:

I can’t remember where I found it. I need to stop doing that. Well, I’m sure it’s someone whose work I LOVE & who I have bookmarked on my tab bar, so hopefully I’ll come across it & be able to put a link in this post in the future. Either way, I’m in love with this bag. It’s giant, but that’s totally my style. Plus, I like the shape I color. I’m not sure I’m feeling up to trying to improvise a bag right now though. I’d like to say I’m good enough to succeed, but I don’t know if that’s the truth. So, I’m also super in love with the ‘granny square’ bags I’ve been seeing, especially the hexagon ones that have the 3-D flowers on them! Super cute.

Maybe I’ll get some work done tonight, go to bed at a decent time, & be able to take some pics of my past projects/make up my mind on a new project. There’s a women’s basketball game at my university tomorrow & I said I’d be there to play in the band. Good thing it’s not til 6:30 – I have lots of time to clean/organize/knit/crochet!

About Dani

23. Graduate student. Knitting, crocheting, sewing, coffee drinking, makeup & fashion loving, dream following, traveling, working, living, laughing, loving.

Leave a Reply

