RSS Feed

New Beginnings

Posted on

With the new year & a nice long break from college, I’ve been doing TONS of crafting, among other things, including lots of exploring & finding beautiful blogs dedicated to knitting, crocheting, & sewing. I thought about how I didn’t want to forget all the wonderful new things I have learned in the past few months, & would love a place to showcase all my projects, as well as blogs I love & patterns I would like to try! So, “The Yarn to Tell” was born!

A little about me: My name is Danielle, but most people call me Dani. I’m in my 4th year at a university in Washington studying psychology, & I’m working toward going to grad school for cognitive psychology. I play clarinet in the marching and pep-bands at my university. I live alone in a cute little studio apartment with my cat, Artie. I love coffee, crafting, cooking/baking, reading, && spending time with friends & family. I enjoy spending most of my free time at home though, watching TV, reading, & knitting/crocheting.

I began crocheting when I was pretty young. I don’t know remember exactly when, maybe middle school? I just remember mom having a hook, an old teach-yourself booklet, & a skein of yarn that I used to learn with. Not long after, I bought myself knitting needles & learned to knit as well. But the real learning didn’t begin until this past summer, when I picked up a crochet hook, bought some yarn, & told myself I would learn to read patterns & make all the things I had been dreaming of. At first I struggled, but when it clicked, it really clicked, && I had so much fun! I loved the look of knitting & re-learned that as well, & by winter I had decided I would forgo buying presents & instead make them. It was lots of fun, & everyone loved their gifts.

My latest completed project was a Gryffindor scarf a friend wanted me to make her, as well as a late Christmas present for a friend, which was a headband in her school colors. Next, I want to work on an infinity scarf for myself, as well as a slouchy hat for another friend. I’m considering opening an Etsy shop, but I want to have a stock of work I can sell, rather than having to make everything to order, at least until I see how heavy the next semester will be when it comes to school work. I hope I can though, because sometimes it’s depressing to make all these things without sharing them with the world, which is another reason I was glad to create this blog.

I can’t wait to explore WordPress & find some blogs to follow. I also can’t wait to start uploading my favorite pictures, patterns & projects to share with all of you. I hope you find something you like about my blog once it’s more interesting!

About Dani

23. Graduate student. Knitting, crocheting, sewing, coffee drinking, makeup & fashion loving, dream following, traveling, working, living, laughing, loving.

Leave a Reply

